Creating Docker Image of 2022 : "Dev Retro 2022"

Creating Docker Image of 2022 : "Dev Retro 2022"

The beginning of 2022

The year 2022 began with some new year resolutions and with the end of my ongoing virtual internship @futurereadytalent , where I built a project called absolute-video-analyzer that takes a video (any random video clip or a video recorded by you while practicing the mock interview) and analyses it to provide you with details such as the person's identity, sentiment analysis, information about background lighting, and generate captions in many different languages. The project's overall goal was to create a platform that analyses videos and provides feedback so that you may enhance your communication by reflecting on your video or using the captions to translate to different languages.

I did not construct every component of the project. instead, I used several Azure cloud services to save time and improve accuracy.

Hurray, I hosted my project for the first time on Azure Cloud Web Service on January 9th.

The Project: YogaGuru

I have a portfolio of many projects, but I'm biased when it comes to yogaguru. it is one of my favorites that began as a college semester project, but later I upgraded the project from using a simple linear regression model to a solid Neural Network model, which enhanced accuracy. I've been working on it to host on the cloud, but it's currently a desktop application with three Asana deployed.

I can't skip this part of my life where I discovered that I enjoy building things, even though I've been doing it for a year now. If you are interested, you can fork the project and work on it, but remember to show your appreciation by giving it a star.

You can check out my project here: https://github.com/Devendra116/YogaGuru

The hackathons

Recently, I became interested in hackathons and was given the opportunity to participate in a national-level hackathon SIH (smart India hackathon). Here I made a mistake and discovered an important life lesson. I registered in SIH with my team with a topic and began working on its prototype. The Hackathon has a rule that only the first few entries for each project are allowed, and as the registration dates approached, the tension grew as the project we chose had many entries, and now it was time to make the wrong decision of changing the project after hearing advice from some people telling us to choose a project with less competition as this will improve our chances of winning.

We changed the project following a team discussion and chose a project with few entries, but we didn't like it. Then we had to stop working on the existing project and start working on a new project presentation in a very short period. We gave the final presentation but were unable to impress the judges at the institute-level selection, so we couldn't continue further. The competition taught us that we should stick to our own objectives and interests and not be swayed by the opinions of others.

But after a week, there was another hackathon waiting for us: tantravihar (Maharashtra state-level hackathon). Fortunately, it was held on my campus, so we found out about it. It was time to make up for our prior error, so we entered the hackathon with the same project that we had previously worked on for SIH and made it to the finals. Even though we did not win the hackathon, here is the catch:

How I was offered an internship

How I got the offer:

While presenting my project at the tantravihar finals, one of the judges was impressed by it and later called to offer me an internship, stating that they are looking for an intern to work on a blockchain project and that I would be interested in working with them. What a coincidence, I was looking for an internship and an opportunity presented itself to me; I accepted the offer.

This was not easy because, while Blockchain was an exciting field for me, I had no prior exposure to the concepts or the code. Following a meeting with my team, they shared the following requirements:

  • Understand the fundamentals of Blockchain and how it works.

  • Learn the Rust programming language because I will be working on the NEAR Protocol Blockchain, which requires Rust to write a smart contract.

Upgrade to Junior Software Engineer

Now that I've been working in this domain for some time I've recently been promoted to junior software engineer, and our product(on-chain infrastructure to buy and sell indexes on Blockchain) is about to launch soon

My Learnings

  • Always do something that you enjoy (in my case I love building projects so hackathons got me an opportunity )

  • Every developer has its journey, even if you follow someone else you end up creating your own path (because every developer's Base directory is different 😉please laugh it's a true joke )

  • The reason you cannot do/follow up on a task is that you don't see it again

  • Don't prioritize other people's opinions over your own.

  • Continue learning new skills and try something

If you've made it this far, thank you for your time, and please consider sharing your 2022 experience or learnings in the comments section below (don't forget to include your base directory path with your comments,😁 sorry it won't happen again).

Enjoyed my writing and want to connect, reach out to me @devendra_116 and subscribe to my newsletter to get notified about my next post.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Devendra Chauhan by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!